News  →  View Story

12 Apr 2017

Lauren Carlini Crowned 87th AAU James E. Sullivan Award Winner

Lauren Carlini Crowned 87th AAU James E. Sullivan Award Winner

NEW YORK (April 11, 2017) – Wisconsin Volleyball All-American Lauren Carlini was announced as the winner of the 87th AAU James E. Sullivan Award in a ceremony at the New York Athletic Club.

“We are extremely proud to call Lauren our 87th winner of the AAU James E. Sullivan Award,” said Melissa Willis, AAU Sullivan Award National Chair. “Lauren represents everything great about amateur athletics. She is not only a phenomenal athlete, but her character, leadership and citizenship are consistent with the values of this award.” 

Carlini is the first-ever volleyball player to take home the award. She topped Olympic gold medalists Kyle Snyder (wrestling), Laurie Hernandez (gymnastics), Aly Raisman (gymnastics), Ashleigh Johnson (water polo), Kayla Harrison (judo) and Ginny Thrasher (Olympic shooting) for the honor.

A member of the bronze medal-winning U.S. National Team at the 2016 Pan American Cup, Carlini is the first four-time All-Big Ten pick in program history. She ranks first at Wisconsin with 74 career double-doubles and second in career assists with 5,599.

“As one of the largest multi-sports organizations in the nation, this award is really the epitome of what the AAU represents,” said Dr. Roger J. Goudy, President/CEO of the AAU. “Part of the mission of the AAU is to provide a venue for amateur athletes to promote good sportsmanship and good citizenship. The winner – as well as our finalists and semifinalists – truly embodies that mission.”

The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. Representatives from the AAU created the Sullivan Award with the intent to recognize amateur contributions and achievements from non-professional athletes across the country.

World renowned golfer Robert “Bobby” Jones received the inaugural award in 1930 and swimmer Anne Curtis became the first female to accept the award in 1944. Other notable athletes to win the award include famed Olympians Mark Spitz (1971), Carl Lewis (1981), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1986) and Michael Phelps (2003). Former UCLA basketball star Bill Walton (1973) and University of Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning (1997) have also earned the prestigious honor.

Also honored during the ceremony was track and field star Jesse Owens, who received the inaugural AAU Gussie Crawford Lifetime Achievement Award posthumously. Owens’ granddaughter Gina Hemphill-Strachan accepted the award on his behalf.

Visit for more information.

Number of views (1259)      Comments (0)



«April 2017»

AAU Wins Another Sport Industry Award By National Association of Sports Commissions

Dr. Roger J. Goudy, President / CEO of AAU honored as Sports Event Organizer of the Year
Read more

RECAP: 2017 AAU Volleyball Classic

ORLANDO, Fla (March 31, 2017) - Teams from around the country descended on the Central Florida area to compete in the 2017 AAU Volleyball Classic March 25-27, 2017. 
Read more

Jesse Owens Recognized as Inaugural AAU Gussie Crawford Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

More than 80 years after bringing home four Olympic gold medals for Team USA in the 1936 Berlin Games, legendary track and field athlete Jesse Owens was honored posthumously with the inaugural AAU Gussie Crawford Lifetime Achievement Award.
Read more


Upcoming events Events RSSiCalendar export